Words of Wisdom from a Man of God

A couple of weeks ago I attended the funeral of friend of mine – Robert Crockett, Jr.. He was an 86 year old pastor whom I had known all of my life. I knew him as a phenomenal preacher who would quote whole bible chapters at a time in the context and flow of his messages. A few years ago I sat down with him and a couple of his contemporaries for a  conversation about leadership development in the local church. I asked him the question, “After over 40 years in the ministry, is there anything you would do differently?” Without hesitation, he responded, “I would teach more and preach less.”

In the funeral program the family included these words of his wisdom –

Five of the most important  lessons you learned in life.

  • Be on time for your appointments.
  • Never make a promise to your children and not keep it.
  • Serve the Lord with all your heart.
  • Be faithful to your spouse by God’s grace.
  • Study to show yourself approved unto God (2 Timothy 2:15)

Share some of your insights for working well with others.

  • Pray for them
  • Seek to understand them. Solomon asked for an understanding heart (2 Kings 3:1-6).
  • Be able to take it from people.
  • Be willing to forgive – “And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God, for Christ’s sake has forgiven you” (Eph. 4:32).

We all need mentors like Pastor Crockett in our lives.

Do you have a mentor who speaks into your life?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Post navigation

One thought on “Words of Wisdom from a Man of God

  1. Melanie Jongsma

    One of the most significant influences in my life was Rev. Steve Elzinga. He has a passion for getting Christians to read their Bibles every day, knowing that we have to spend time WITH God before we can do anything FOR God. I didn’t realize until working with Steve (1) what a minority Bible-readers are in our churches today, (2) how the culture of both the world and the church work against daily Bible-reading, (3) how alive the Bible becomes when we read it in community with each other, and (4) how easy it is to evangelize and make disciples when you have something authentic to share. I’m grateful I had the opportunity to learn from Steve. He still influences my thinking today.

Blog at WordPress.com.

