Beauty in the Desert

Yes, I know. I’ve been in a serious state of blogging slackitude (how do you like that made up word?) for a while. It’s not that I’ve not been writing (I’ve published a book, written a 12 week Bible study – dissedRespect in the Family, and outlined 2 more books), I’ve just had a lot on my plate. I have so much to share as God has been doing some pretty significant stuff in my life in the past year and I hope to start catching up this summer.

Today, however, I want to share with you a new book that has been written by one of the most influential people in my life. Eddie Broussard came into my life after my sophomore year in college. We were both involved in the Navigator ministry at the University of Illinois. Eddie became my mentor over the next two and a half years walking with me through some difficult spiritual and relational times, never letting me wallow in them and relentlessly pointing me to God. He taught me more about studying the Bible, having a passion for knowing God and pursuing Him in scripture  than ANYONE ever has and probably ever will. When I am studying scripture today, I still use the methodologies that Eddie taught me from from 1980-1982. He would challenge me to memorize, not verses of scripture, but passages and chapters. At one point, we even tackled memorizing the entire book of Philippians!

He was the first person I ever met that actually understood the Tabernacle and was able to, not only explain it, but was able to show me how to apply it to my own life and devotional time. He blew my mind then, so I cannot wait to see how God has developed this in him over 30 years and in full book.

Eddie is one of the most Godly men I have ever met and there is no question that this will come across in his book, Beauty in the Desert. He writes, “During spiritual deserts, we can find love in God’s dwelling place, the tabernacle. Applying the spiritual  realities of the tabernacle as a way of devotional life, especially during desert times, can yield a deeper intimacy with Him.”

You can pre-order the book at http://www.navpress.com/product/9781617471582/Beauty-in-the-Desert-Eddie-Broussard.

When you get it, let’s read it together and see where God takes us.

Jason

Categories: Uncategorized

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Beauty in the Desert

  1. Ardella

    Having watched the spiritual growth in your life as a result of Eddie’s input, I can’t agree with you more. His spiritual influence also reached others in our family – my son, Mom and me as well as we had the privilege of “adopting” him into the family during and after the years you were in college together. He may have been the first person I knew who had the ability to see God in every day things and readily would say about the difficulties in life, “It’s a pretty humling thang.” I too carry the lessons I learned from him and look forward to reading the book. Thanks for the info.

  2. Shirley Perry

    I’m very happy for Eddie an thank you for the information. I will absolutely purchase his book and I really looking forward to reading it.

    I’ve heard Eddie speak a couple of times, and I’m always blown away by his knowledge, his wisdom, his walk. He is amazing.

  3. Hector

    This sound beautiful. Thought I don’t know Eddie, from your testimony, Pastor Perry, I am more interested in this book . I would like to purchase one. May the Lord bless him more.

Blog at WordPress.com.

